Proof Reading

As you are aware, my manuscript is currently undergoing the publishing process. At the moment, I am in personal liaison with a proof reader. She recently sent me the edited document with changes up to chapter 9… It is actually quite amazing how much I missed when I read/checked through it myself. She’s not changed paragraphs and paragraphs, just rearranged words in a sentence and altered some punctuation. Although I am well aware that there is no such things as perfection, and even one at the top of their field makes mistakes at times, I can’t help but feel mildly miserable. How did I not notice any of this before? Why did I not notice my stupid wording and whatnot? Now I’m doubting whether I can actually write at all. But oh well, I guess that’s what proof readers are for.

It’s hard to distance yourself from something you’ve created. It’s hard to have the eye to see small mistakes or irregularities.

So, if there are any writers out there in a similar position to myself, I seriously suggest a proof reader. It’s quite a nice reality check, in a way; no matter how pleased you may be with something you have done, there is always room for improvement.

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

