Rally the Army

Everyone in my family is a walking disease right now, and I’m currently the only one unaffected by it. It had better stay that way. I don’t have time to be ill. I will give a death stare to any approaching bacteria, and rally up my army of white blood cells – which, for now, are doing extremely well at preventing a disease invasion and keeping my foundations strong.

I am currently on the very last section of proof reading (yay!), and when I send it back off, the proof reading process will be officially over! I cannot express how much of a relief that will be. I know it’s a terribly important process, but it takes. so. long. Having to focus on every comma, every space, every minute detail for 400 hundred pages literally makes you want to gouge your eyes out with the pen in your hand. I could have finished proof reading yesterday night, but I had to stop, or else I would have ended up rocking back and forth in the corner mumbling like a madman. I will definitely be done by today, however.

The next process is formatting, and hopefully things will move quicker once that’s started! And hopefully I’ll get a publication date soon. I have been so stressed out about everything recently, so it would be nice to have a date. If I don’t get one soon, I think my white blood cells will revolt and turn against me, and I will be a pitiful being spluttering and spewing from the deadly disease of STRESS.

But it’s cool, I’ll be fine.

2 responses to “Rally the Army

  1. I’ve often done proofreading as part of my copywriting/communications work. Because you are focussing on the tiniest details, you miss the meaning of the text. This isn’t necessarily a problem, but if it’s a document written by someone else that you’ve never seen before, the temptation is to read it to grasp the sense of it, as you would in any normal circumstances. In fact, I would say that if you find yourself understanding what is going on, the chances are you are not proofreading properly (in which case, start again!).

    • Yes, that’s very true. Proof reading is quite the challenge, because the eye is trained to see what it thinks should be there as opposed to what is there, so mistakes are so easily overlooked! And also, it’s hard to read something and not actually READ it – not to grasp the sense of it, as you said. I’m not actually doing the complete proof reading myself – I’ve had a proof reader do it for me – however I then need to go over what they’ve done/changed, in addition to changing the odd thing here and there that I personally want to adapt. It’s definitely a slow and laborious process.

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

