Hooray for Weird Literary Devices

As I said in my last post, I have now officially started work on Book 2 of the Ilimoskus trilogy once again. My plan was to read back through what I’ve already written to refresh myself before continuing to write. Makes sense, right? But this plan has not quite worked out.

I have no life, this I cannot deny, yet considering I have no life, I have been remarkably busy this past week-ish. How is that even possible? I have no idea.

  • Thursday: I was on the farm, which somehow stole all the hours of my day.
  • Friday: This man about a conservatory came round to the house and managed to steal my entire afternoon. Although I want to be mildly annoyed about this, I find it very hard to be, because he was actually lovely! How can you be annoyed with lovely people? That’s right, you can’t, because it’s impossible.
  • Saturday: I went to a fete which the charity I volunteer for put on.
  • Sunday: Now, I did do something on Sunday, but I can’t actually remember what it was. Whatever it was, I’m sure it was a waste of a day.
  • Monday: I went to Boscombe for my grandma’s birthday. I can’t really complain about that one, family obligations and all that. You know the drill.
  • Tuesday: I didn’t actually do anything, but I was having an incredibly useless day.

And today, I spent my entire morning feeling like a housewife. Cleaning, doing the laundry, then making cakes for when I go to my charity tomorrow. I think I’d make a pretty top notch housewife, if I may be so bold to say so.

Anyway, more to the point: I have the time for a few hours this afternoon to sit down and actually read back over Book 2, which I’ve been doing. Although writing this now could be called procrastination (and maybe it is, because we all know how writers love it), I felt as though I had to share my discovery. Because it has been so long since I’ve done anything for Book 2, it’s all a bit new to me – hence ‘refreshing’ myself. I have noticed, however, that the past me used some, quite frankly, bizarre similes and metaphors within the narration. I mean, really quite bizarre. Interestingly, they are all in the human sections. I like writing the human sections because it’s a nice break from the fantasy world, and because it’s a fantasy world and the beings are elemental, when writing those sections I only use metaphors, similes etc. that can be linked to nature in some way. This can be quite hard, as there is only so much one can write about nature-related things, and I worry about repeating myself all the time. I guess it is inevitable, though. So, for this reason, when I get to the human sections, I am free to write about anything! Oh, such glorious freedom! *runs through an open field with arms wide*

And in Book 2 (or at the beginning of it, at least), I really went to town. Here are a few that I have come across:

1) ‘Whenever she tried to question what the matter was, Elizabeth whizzed uncontrollably off like a Catherine wheel, spinning madly in a blur of emotions and wailing an eerie scream.’

I read this one out to my mother the other day, and she honestly laughed for about 10 minutes because she took it literally. And now I can’t take it seriously anymore. Thanks, Mum.

2) There is an extended metaphor about one of the characters being a clock.

A grandfather clock, to be specific.

3) Extended metaphor about school pupils being seaweed/the sea.

The human sections have nature-related things, too…

4) ‘Anastasia dodged to the side, and the remote made a muffled thud as it hit the back sofa cushion. She wanted to react, but right now it was as though the pause button had been directed at her tongue.’

Making the link between television remotes and not knowing what to say, naturally.

5) ‘She stomped to a halt before reaching [the driveway], not willing to subject herself to the impossible endeavour of running across gravel. Although, this did not stop Elizabeth; she resolutely trudged her way through it, waddling from side to side like a penguin carrying too much baggage.’

The image this creates is quite something…

6) ‘…an army of frogs threw themselves head first into her stomach lining.’

This is my personal favourite. 

There are more, but this is just a taster. Maybe they are weird, or maybe they aren’t, but either way: there’s nothing wrong with weird. Weird makes the world a more interesting place.

Have a good afternoon people!

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

