Go Back to the Starting Line

This poem originated from me answering questions about my book. While I was in the middle of writing answers to a load of questions, I happened to be talking to a friend at the same time, and I said to him, “There are a million questions and I’m still on one”. He then said that sounds like the beginning of a poem. So, I made it one. But, story aside, this has a very important message which we should all take to heart.

Go Back to the Starting Line

© Jennifer K. Marsh 2013

There are a million questions
and I’m still on one;
I fell at the first hurdle
and there’s no rerun.
The humans all ran on,
leaving me behind,
but they left a little message:
‘We thought you wouldn’t mind.’

There are a million answers
but I can’t give you one;
I fell at the first hurdle
and watched on as you won.
Now I’m all alone
’cause I was left behind;
how I wish I could rewind
the ruin of mankind.

I am but a humble tree –
I am humble nature –
but please look after me.

This is my only plea.

4 responses to “Go Back to the Starting Line

    • Weirdly, this poem originated from me answering questions about my book! I was talking to a friend at the time, trying to answer a load of questions, and I said, “There are a million questions and I’m still on one”. And he said that sounds like the beginning of a poem. So I made it one ^^. But, story aside, this has a very important message in my opinion – one we should all take to heart.

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

