Eye See You

Some of you may recall the post I did a little while back about continuing work on Book 2. Unfortunately, life has been getting in the way recently, so I still haven’t been able to work on it properly, but I am pleased to say that I’m finally starting to get back on the case.

You’d think this would be a good thing, but the chapter I have been working on has become the bane of my life. I feel as though I have been working on it for a million years. In fact, it is causing me such grief that I have started referring to it as ‘the hell chapter’. I would like to point out that this chapter has got absolutely nothing to do with hell, to save future disappointment; although, saying that, it does have a lot of fire in. I’m not sure why this chapter is proving to be such a colossal pain in the backside, but, alas, such is the way sometimes.

It fills me with great delight to say that I’ve so nearly finished hell, but because I am nearing its end, I have cast my thoughts forward to the next chapter. There are many new characters in Book 2 (and when I say many, I really mean many: it’s about 20), and one of these new characters is in the next chapter. But then I realised something. I have no idea what this character looks like – specifically what their eye colour is. I know everything about them, apart from their appearance. So, naturally, I’ve been spending a lifetime stressing about eyes.

Who would have thought there were so many colours to choose from? And, being the perfectionist I am, it’s no easy decision. Some people reading this might think, “Does it really matter? It’s just an eye colour,” but I am sure fellow writers will understand the toil. Should this character have dark or light eyes? Should it reflect their personality? Should it contrast it? Does it matter? Should they be tired and weary of life, having seen many a troubling thing? Should they be bright and vivacious, or innocent, or calm? Can brown eyes be bright? Yes, they can, but is that the image I want to create? Should they be a rare colour, unusual, or common?

There are so many questions, so many possibilities. Eyes are captivating and mysterious things indeed: they are the portals into another’s soul; they are mirrors reflecting the emotions from within; they are spectres from a distant past, for only they know what they have seen as they discreetly observe the world around them. It is, therefore, only right to spend so much time ensuring they fit the character.

I’ve been all over Lord of the Rings again recently, and all this thought on eyes has brought but one thing to mind…

seye

I see you

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

