Ornate Door

Ornate Door

© Jennifer K. Marsh 2013

I loved to be alone amid the fields of green,
but then I started swirling as in a distant dream;
I fell down to sleep upon the evening grass
waiting in frozen darkness for the time to pass.
And though I did awaken
lost in nightmare’s vision,
I hadn’t been forsaken
for I had promptly risen
beneath the dimming sun.
I looked to the red sky
far beyond my hazy eyes
and saw heaven’s ornate door.
How I yearned to visualise
the colours kept within the heights,
so I opened up this door
to let the crimson rubies pour!

I was alone amid the fields of green
and then I started swirling as in a distant dream,
but my hand was taken by the life I could not see
and we spun under the jewels while dancing like the breeze.
And though the rubies hurt me,
for they did cascade,
my mind had been set free
in some crazy escapade
that I never knew begun!
I waded through the waters red
and my startled feet then fled;
I think they ran up to the door,
assuming that they could explore.

But they ignored the sign beside
the cloud of darkened eventide,
warning that they must abide
by the rules of life’s wild ride.
It stated that this ornate door
was for sleep and nothing more!
And since my feet were wide awake
the door slammed shut for my own sake;
my footing fell, I lost the door,
but in its place my heart soon soared
for on the breeze of life I danced.

I loved to be alone amid the fields of green,
but then I started swirling as in a distant dream;
as I spun under the door I finally realised
that I am not welcome there with my open eyes.
I do not know, I shall not ask, for I only agree…
but can someone tell me how I’m meant to be?

6 responses to “Ornate Door

  1. What a beautiful poem! You create such a lovely sense of movement and energy, and you write with such a gentle tone, it’s the kind of writing I would love to read for days on end. You’re an amazing poet–thanks for sharing your words with us 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. It truly means a lot. I’ve been having a bit of a bad time of it recently and my writing has therefore been suffering, so you’ve given me a much needed boost 🙂 I think it is I who should be thanking you, and all others who read my work, for simply knowing that someone out there enjoys my words makes everything seem all worth while. It makes any hardship seem almost petty (:

      • You’re very welcome 🙂 I hope your troubles ease soon, and at the very least that you gain strength from them. And remember of course that you’ve got all us fans in the background cheering you on! 😀

  2. Aha, well that is certainly something to smile about! 🙂 Indeed: you cannot experience true happiness unless you have undergone the trials of adversity! With each hardship you must find that inner strength. I know how your blog is all about that inner strength; it’s a very special thing 🙂

  3. Pingback: One Year on… | Jennifer K. Marsh

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

