Darling Moon

The image is not my own. It was originally taken from Google Images.

Darling Moon

© Jennifer K. Marsh 2013

You know I’m here waiting
for the perfect time
to let the world fall
into blinding moonshine.
You know I’m here holding
the moon by a thread,
dangling on every word
that was never said.

O, my darling:
shall I let go?
Shall I plunge into the depths
of all we do not know?
I’m hanging from your tongue
that burns me like the sun,
so maybe you should tell me:
what is it that you see
when you look up so hopelessly?

You know I’m here leaping
from star to distant star,
peering down from the heights
and pondering where you are.
You know I’m here heeding,
upon the darkest clouds,
every desperate thought
you never say aloud.

O, my darling:
shall I speak for you?
Shall I whisper all the thoughts
you thought I never knew?
I’m hanging from your tongue
that burns me like the sun,
so maybe you should tell me:
what is it that you feel
when underneath the night you kneel?

You know I’m here drifting
along the gentle breeze,
singing all the lullabies
I learnt from the seas.
You know I’m here shining
before your tired eyes,
bound in wondrous silver
to make mystery arise.

O, my darling:
shall I stay unknown?
Shall I be the hidden force
that carries you back home?
I’m hanging from your tongue
that burns me like the sun,
so maybe you should tell me:
what is it that you need
when silent tears fall as you plead?

But, my darling,
I don’t know where you are:
how am I to find you
when you are so far?
How am I to love you
when you do not say
the simple words I need to hear
to take the pain away?

So, my darling,
I will stay within the moon.
I’ll be there in the light
that brightly beams every night
to always be by you.
I know you love the moon,
so maybe you can tell me soon.

You know that you should tell me,
I know that you can,
and I know that all you want
is for me to understand.
O, my darling,
won’t you tell me:
what is it that you see
when you gaze at the moon?
I hope that you will tell me soon.


‘The smallest drop in the ocean can start a wave of emotion’

Endless thanks to the words in Eternity, and to those behind them. I was listening to this song one cold November night, sat at my desk and staring out the window to view the night sky, and it reminded me of my wholehearted adoration for the moon. How that wholehearted adoration had slipped my mind in the first place, I’m not quite sure, but such is the way sometimes. Writing ‘Darling Moon’ helped ease the hopelessness that was reigning over me at the time.

I am so in love with you,

my dear,

my Darling Moon

^^

5 responses to “Darling Moon

  1. Pingback: Darling Moon (the song!) | Jennifer K. Marsh

  2. Pingback: Sketching with Sincerity | Jennifer K. Marsh

  3. Pingback: Present from My Princess in Minehead | S

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

