Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sister-hood-award

Firstly, I’m terribly sorry about the surge of award-related posts. Secondly, this is the last one, so you can sigh with relief.

I deeply appreciate every award I have received, but this one is slightly different for one reason: I don’t have a sister. I am a sister, but I don’t have one. I have two older brothers, who, sadly, aren’t all that ‘brotherly’: one is mentally disabled, and the other I don’t really see or talk to. I love my family very much, but we are slightly broken. Maybe broken is too harsh a word… We aren’t ‘typical’.

So, I’ll have a whole WordPress family instead! Why not? And I will have sisters. Because why not?

I’d like to give a huge thank you to Sherri at A View from My Summerhouse for nominating me for this award, especially since she hasn’t been a follower for all that long! I’m very touched. As I said in my previous award post, recently I’ve wanted to hide away in a corner and give up on everything – sometimes I was surprised I even managed to drag myself out of bed – so this support and encouragement means so, so much.

These are the rules:

  1. Provide a link to and thank the blogger who nominated you for this award.
  2. Answer ten questions.
  3. Nominate 10-12 blogs that you find a joy to read.
  4. Provide links to these nominated blogs and kindly let the recipients know they have been nominated.
  5. Include the award logo within your blog post.

Here are my nominations:

http://valourborn.wordpress.com/

http://proverbsway.com/

http://wonderstruck17.wordpress.com/

http://charlottehoatherblog.com/

Now some eagle eyed readers out there might notice that this is no where near 10-12 nominations. I have a confession: I hardly follow any female bloggers 😐 I didn’t realise this until now. So… I apologise for my awfully short list of nominees. I feel ashamed – I’m letting the sisterhood down!

But here are the Ten Questions I am to answer:

1) Favourite colour? – I love deep blues and greens, but bottle green is probably my favourite colour. That and navy blue.

2) Favourite animal? Frogs!

3) Favourite non-alcoholic drink? – I’m glad this is ‘non-alcoholic drink’, because (here’s a fun fact for you all) I’m actually allergic to alcohol 😉 Part of me wants to say still water since I genuinely have a bottle of water on me wherever I go, but I’m going to dig a little deeper. Although I drink peppermint tea far more often, my answer is going to have to be proper tea. BRITISH tea. I think it would verge on treason if I said anything else, given I’m a Briton and all that… right? Besides, nothing beats a good ole cuppa when you’re feeling fed up or tired or cold. Britain loves tea so much that not too long ago we actually had a two part TV programme about tea; and, if I recall correctly, within this program it said how the British soldiers during World War II said that Hitler would never get to them because they had tea. It was so important for British morale that they say that’s how we won the war. I say this in all seriousness, but if the rest of the world adopted the British tea drinking philosophy, I’m almost certain the world would be a happier place.

*sobs* I’m so sad, what ever shall I do? DO NOT FRET! We’ll have a nice cup of tea, and all your tears will cease.

UGH I’m so stressed out with work I can’t make this deadline HELP ME!! CALM YOURSELF! Let’s pop the kettle on. There now, see? What work?

Oh, I’m so happy! HURAY! Let us celebrate such joy with some tea and biscuits!

OW! I’ve hurt myself oh I’m in so much pain! NEVER FEAR! Your brew is ready. Now, what’s this you were saying about being in pain?

These things totally happen in the UK.

I seem to have allowed myself to get horribly distracted by tea… Moving swiftly on…

4) Facebook or Twitter? – I have both Facebook and Twitter, and to be honest, they annoy me equally. But I’ll go with Facebook.

5) Favourite pattern? – This is a strange question… My favourite floor pattern is parquet. When I was a child, I amused myself to no ends with parquet floors. Thinking about it, they always remind me of school, since every single British school in the history of ever has parquet assembly halls (they used to, anyway – I don’t know about modern builds). During assembly – which we had at the very least three times a week – I used to silently stare at the parquet floor throughout. We weren’t allowed to speak in assembly, you see… 

On the subject of schools (forgive another slight diversion)… I was walking the dog earlier and my route took me nearby a school. It must have been break (or recess, to those across the pond). I couldn’t see anything – I could only hear. There’s something about the noise of children playing in the school playground, that laughter and lively screaming, which somehow sounds more like distant echoes reverberating against hollow memories as the concept of time steadily slows down until it stops forever. To me, anyway… But I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks this.

6) Do you prefer getting or giving presents? – It is called a ‘present’ because it must be presented, but a gift is given from the heart. I do not like presents. I do, however, like gifts, and I will give them always.

7) Favourite number? – A significant number in my life is 5… I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with 5. But I like the number 3, too…

8) Favourite day of the week? – Sunday.

9) Favourite flower? – Here is a little poem/rhyme/riddle thing which hints at my three favourite flowers. If you guess them, you deserve a pat on the back 😉

Dance in the snow and be a rhino, but don’t forget the one bestowed in white valleys long ago.

10) What is your passion? – Writing… no?

***

This has nothing to do with the post, but I saw this picture and it just amused me, so I am sharing it with you.

My next post will not be about awards, you’ll be pleased to know; instead, I’d like to think it’s rather hopeful! A nice way to end the year 🙂

5 responses to “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Love this post Jennifer, and you may have seen that my answer was also tea, in fact I have done a couple of blog posts about the good old British cup of tea I love it so much! When in crisis have a cup of tea, or for any reason! No excuse needed actually!
    Great image too, and so true. We are a funny lot us Brits that’s for sure 😉

    ‘…distant echoes reverberating against hollow memories…’ describes just how I feel when I hear school children playing. Powerful.

    Congratulations once again Jennifer. It’s lovely having you as a ‘sister’. I didn’t grow up with any sisters either 😉

    • Yes, I did see! Haha, you definitely don’t need any excuse for a cup of tea, you’re right. We most certainly are, but we wouldn’t have it any other way! 😉

      I had a feeling I wouldn’t be alone with the feelings from that sound. It’s strange, really, but I could simply listen to it for hours.

      Thank you – and congratulations to you also! I think we make a pretty good sisterhood 😉

      • It’s just the way you wrote about it, when I read it I thought, “Yes, that’s just what it sounds like and exactly how it makes me feel” Beautifully written.

        Yes, we certainly do make a darn good sisterhood! Have a lovely evening Jennifer 🙂

  2. Congrats on both your award nominations (which you very much deserve!) and thank you so much for nominating me in turn 🙂

    Haha, and I love your diversions, and that picture at the end 😉

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

