Think of the Sky

There is something in particular that has been on my mind for quite a while now, and I would like to share this with you. In fact, I had an email conversation with someone about this exact thing not too long ago, all because we were talking about words – specifically about beautiful sounding words. I am going to refer to this someone as ‘Wizard’ – you know who you are 😉

Now, before I continue, I’m going to assume that most of you reading this know of my undying love for the natural world (if you didn’t know, now you do). Nature is the most glorious, beautiful, amazing, interesting, deep, fascinating, inspiring, healing … I could go on forever, though I fear I’d run out of adjectives. You get the idea. I love it. But there is one specific part of the natural world that I am sooo in love with. The sky! Why, oh why, do I love the sky? I shall tell you why. I am going to quote myself from this conversation I had:

“[The sky] is there wherever you go, and no matter what, it is beautiful. Every colour, every light, every darkness. All so beautiful. Blues, purples, pinks, oranges, yellows, golds, reds, greys, blacks, whites, silvers. The sun gleaming, brightening up the edges of the clouds. The stars flickering beside the moon, so gentle and still. The heavy, deep clouds that splash out the rain, seeming as though they are about to sink into the earth. Now, I look out my window, and see the sky is covered with dull grey clouds – not an inch of blue in sight. It’s still beautiful, even like this. It’s like the world has been shrouded in cloth.”

Back to words. One of my personal favourite words is ‘twilight’. It is a beautiful word. Twi-light. Twiiiiiilight. Twilight. I said this to Wizard, and this was his response:

“I’m not sure if I can like the word ‘Twilight’ after those books.  It is a shame, as, now I think of it, the word is kinda beautiful.  Boo.  Beautiful word spoiled by story.  Or do you love the books?  Is that why you like the word?  Are you all like:  ‘Team EDWARD! Team JACOB! Team YETI!’?  or no?”

Firstly: don’t mind the yeti reference. Secondly: NO. Just no. No offence to anyone out there, but I really hate the Twilight story. It breaks my heart that people think to the Twilight Series when they see or hear the word ‘twilight’. Really breaks my heart.

Allow me to share with you the Oxford English dictionary’s definition of the word ‘twilight’:

noun

1 [mass noun] the soft glowing light from the sky when the sun is below the horizon, caused by the reflection of the sun’s rays from the atmosphere

2 [in singular] the period of the evening when twilight is visible, between daylight and darkness

Origin:

Late Middle English: from Old English twi- ‘two’ (used in an obscure sense in this compound) + LIGHT

Where in that definition does it mention sparkly vampires? That’s right, it does not. So let us discard sparkly vampires from our minds and love twilight for the beauty that it is. Think of the sky! It is the greatest show on earth to watch a story of light and darkness unfold before our eyes at dusk and dawn. Where will the colours take you?

Let’s look at the origin of the word. Although I’m a bit of a geek when it comes to such things, because I love English Language and the history and origin of words, it tells us a lot. It essentially means ‘two-light’. Two different lights merging into one. Is it just me, or is that the most gorgeous image ever? Twilight is the time between darkness and daylight, a time in the sky that glows and lures all hearts to flutter away with it into a realm of bliss.

I would be lying if I said the sky is the only thing I think of when I see/hear the word ‘twilight’. I do, on occasion, think of the song ‘Vanilla Twilight’ by Owl City. But this is okay, because it is a pretty song, and it respects what twilight actually is. It respects the sky. I like the words in this song.

So, when you see or hear the word twilight, please think of the sky. I’m sure it will reveal its gratitude in a very beautiful way. Just look up and you’re bound to see it 🙂

***

IMAG0075

I took this picture the other day. I am very blessed to be able to see sights like this often. I’m not sure if I would call this twilight exactly, but it is a truly breath-taking dusk. I wish I could have stayed by the shore forever that evening. While I’m on the subject of the sky, there is a poem I wrote once upon a time about the sky and twilight and dreams. It’s called Betwixt the Sky and Sea. It isn’t very long, so if you’d like to read it, it is here.

May you fall away into a weightless dream as the dimming light glows upon you.

10 responses to “Think of the Sky

  1. ‘Twilight’ is indeed a beautiful word, once you clear away those books, and those films of those books. 😉 Watching the two lights merge is a really hypnotic thing. The sky is so full of wonder and so there are many celestial words which trigger lovely thoughts, a stand out for me, besides twilight, being ‘moonset’. We hear about ‘sunset’ all the time, but ‘moonset’ strikes me as even more romantic.

    Lovely photo! Maybe I need to get out more, but we don’t seem to get many evenings like that in Norfolk these days, at any time of the year… a shame, I have fond memories of skulking around in the twilight as a youngster! That’s what it conjures up for me 🙂

    • Indeed! You are very right. Well, the moon is just the image of romance really 😉 I’d pick the moon over the sun, personally.

      Do you not? That certainly is a shame. Though, I cannot believe that nature has stopped altogether over Norfolk, just that it may have gone a little a shy. I’m sure if you were out and about you would see a beautiful sight somewhere. It may be in a tiny, isolated corner, but it will still be there. And, in a way, if you do find it then, it will seem more special 🙂

      ‘Twilight’ sometimes reminds me of a similar thing: out and about at dusk and dawn, in a different time.

      • Ah, yes, moon for me too, in a heartbeat! Then, I am a night owl, easily sunburnt, so perhaps I just bear a grudge with the other!

        So true – if we are shy, life can be shy too. Maybe I shall go and do a bit of exploration 🙂

      • I’m not a very good owl myself. I’m more of a lark. Yet even so, it will always be the moon for me. As you say, the sun can be cruel with it’s sun-burning and such, with its hot and fiery ways. I don’t do hot. Not that we don’t appreciate the sun, of course 😉

        I definitely think nature is shy. And delicate. Sensitive. Why should it reveal itself to people who will not appreciate its beauty?

        You should do that! 🙂 Go on an adventure. You know you want to 😉

  2. Oh Jennifer, I am right with you, with nature, the sky, the sea, the moon, the stars, the twilight! Such a shame that the word (and thank you so much for sharing with us it’s true meaning which has absolutely nothing to do with ‘sparkly vampires’ as you so deliciously put it!!) is now associated with ‘those’ books. It is wonderful to read this post and to know that you write so beautifully from your heart in such a creative, gentle and evocative way. Thank you 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday Miss Jennifer! A fellow Aquarian…no wonder you like Darwin, the science part of your Aquarian brain would fall in love with his theories. Anyhow, I liked your post on Darwin and wanted to wish you a most happy birthday. If you send me an email message to Geo3Rs@att.net, I’ll send you a free astrological birthday report so you can really kick up you Aqauarian heels. I’ll have to ask you a few questions to make it happen but I think you’ll find it very enlightening and entertaining.
    Peace and Blessings, Soul Passages Astrology.

    • Thank you very much! Yeah, Aquarians have quite the mind for science. It’s no wonder I used to love it so much. That’s really kind of you, thanks! It would definitely be very enlightening, I feel, especially since I’m having a pretty hard time of it right now.
      I’ll send you an email soon 🙂
      Many blessings to you!

      • Sounds great. I’d love to see you have a smashing birthday. Probably won’t get to your email for a few days…got a busy schedule right now, but promise it will be worth the wait.

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

