New Website!

Does anyone remember me mentioning that I was in the middle of redesigning my website? Well, I am pleased to say that I AM DONE. It took me so long. Every day for… how long was it? I don’t even know. The days kind of merged into one, endless, miserable mass of bleugh. Designing a website is quite possibly one of the most emotionally painful experiences anyone could willing put themselves through. At least it is for me. Technology is not my friend. I think you can see where I’m going with this.

After all the tears (not really, but I did nearly throw my laptop out the window on numerous occasions), I was leaping for joy once I had finished it. But my leaping soon stopped, for then came technical hiccups. I had to ring someone, which instantly put me in a bad mood because I have some inexplicable and incessant hatred for the telephone. Don’t ask – I have no idea. I just can’t bear it… For starters, I actually go near deaf when on the landline. I can’t hear on the landline ? I genuinely can’t. I don’t understand it. So, I spend most of the time going, “Sorry? What? Pardon?” In fact, most of the time I give up, and I just say “Yes” or “Mmm” to whatever the mumbling noise was. That proves to make things a tad awkward when I’m supposed to be answering a question.

Anyway, I was on the phone to this man who had the misfortune of talking to me, trying to get to the bottom of this technical issue (which was a disaster in itself as I’m hopeless with technology). After a while, we thought the problem was solved; we were happy bunnies, and hung up the phone. But, to my dismay, I then realised that the problem hadn’t been solved at all, so I had to ring the support section back. I thought to myself, I hope I don’t get the same man – that would be a bit awkward. I obviously, obviously, got the same man again. I was on the phone to him the second time for half an hour. Half an hour? Heavens above. During that time I was put on hold for a while and I was honestly sat there laughing at the song playing. I have no idea what it was, but it was cheesy and awful, and then I was thinking, I hope he can’t actually hear me laughing. But then Michael Jackson’s ‘Beat It’ came on, which made things slightly more bearable all round.

But despite the emotional distress of the call, Mr. Telephone Man saved the day, and now my new website it up and running. Huray!

So, as I said, my new website is on the go! Most people didn’t realise I even had a website before, but that was because I never talked about, and that’s because I hated it. It was awful. When my book was being published, there were various issues and I didn’t have the time to focus on getting my website ready. Then, one day, I realised that I had no website and I very quickly needed one because it had to be ready with the public availability of the book. I threw one together because I just did not have the time – or the patience by that point in the process. So there we go. That was that. And then I left it as it was because I didn’t care and I hated the process so much I didn’t want to go through with it again. But then late in 2013 I thought… No, this really needs a makeover, and I need to make an effort with my own book/story. If I don’t, I can’t expect anyone else to.

If you never saw the old website, consider this a good thing. You did not miss out. With the new website, you’ll totally be missing out if you don’t go see it 😉 Please check it out and go exploring! There is a lot to discover, and there is a lot of exclusive information that you can ONLY get from me. I am from the author, after all 😉 And feel free to spread the word about this website! I won’t be all hush-hush let’s not tell anyone this time round. I will tell the world. And I am, right now.

I hope you enjoy what you find 🙂 And thank you for taking the time to have a peek!

http://jenniferkmarsh.co.uk/

17 responses to “New Website!

  1. Woop, nice one! As a designer I know how much a trial web design can be, but it’s looking good; I’m enjoying running the cursor along the photo gallery drop-downs like a 5-year old, so haven’t got past the home page just yet….

    And by the way, I’m completely with you on telephones… I dread using them, to the point of phobia and counselling. As such, I panic, and also go deaf and say yes to a ‘when…’ question, etc. I’m seen as a bit of an odd one to my friends, as I have a mobile only for an absolute emergency, and nothing else. I find it liberating.

    Good to hear the gremlins were soon weeded out, and the laptop survived a hard trip; liking what I see!

    • Haha, oh I was exactly the same with the drop-down thing. A bit of interactive fun for everyone, bringing out the inner child in us all.

      I’m glad I’m not alone! I’m often called odd by my friends too, but it’s not a problem unless you make it one 😉 That sounds very liberating actually. I hate being so reliant on my phone, and technology in general. Though, it’s strange, because I’m better with phonecalls on my mobile than I am with the landline (which I don’t understand at all).

      Thanks though! Considering you’re a designer and you’re saying you liking what you see, that makes me feel a lot better. All that toil might have just been worth it after all 😉

    • Thank you! 🙂 Ohhh, it certainly was. But can we expect any less? I don’t think so. Everything regarding my story likes to be as awkward as possible! Or so it seems.

      But I’m glad you like it! It’s a relief indeed 🙂

      • Ha, it’s like a big ol’ beast testing you to see how much mischief it can get away with. It’s probably a softy on the inside though 😉

        Yeah, it’s wonderful 😀 Very classy too!

      • Haha, it really is! It’s like a naughty child. It needs a firm hiding. Not to say I beat children though! (could have probably picked my words better there, but you know what I mean 😉 )

        I’m so glad ^^ Thanks again!

      • Haha! Yeah, you don’t really seem the type to go beating children. But seeing as how the website isn’t a real child, I very much agree! 😛

        You’re welcome 🙂

  2. Jennifer, this is wonderful news, all part of your comeback! Many, many congratulations on all the hard work and I can just imagine all the hassles. It can be a nighmare.

    I’m with you on the telephone thing, I hate using the landline and feel like pulling it out of the wall when it rings. I screen all my calls and everyone knows that if they want me they have to leave a message or call on my mobile. I can handle calls on my mobile much better for some odd reason. My Aspie daughter doesn’t do phones or answer the door. Only her mobile for when I am out of the house and tell her to keep it on in case I need to get hold of her!!!
    Still, if MJ came on then it was a little better – I’m a huge Michael Jackson fan 🙂

    Took a look at your website and I love it! This time tell everyone about it, and get the word out! Self-promotion is very hard for us Brits isn’t it? I’m looking forward to keeping up with your updates and I loved to see the write up about you in the Salisbury Journal!

    Horray for Jennifer, keep going and keep looking up, you should be very proud of yourself, I am very proud of you 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Your comment really made me smile 🙂

      I’m exactly the same! For some reason I can cope better on my mobile too. No idea why that is though ? It’s funny, my brother is badly autistic, and he has always been quite happy to answer the door or the phone, but then he cannot deal with whatever needs to be dealt with, and that then leads to a more awkward situation than if he just ignored it all in the first place. They say Asperger’s and Autism are part of the same spectrum.. and I guess they are.. but in my experience Asperger’s is totally different to full-blown autism. You know?

      Oh, indeed. We’re baaaaaad at it. The article in the Salisbury Journal was literally the only thing I bothered to do promotion-wise, right at the beginning. I don’t know why I was so set against it. I still am, in a way, but I’m actually going to hassle the West Somerset press soon 😉

      I should be proud of myself, you’re right. Thank you 🙂

      • Yes, you should be proud of yourself, absolutely!

        Just to quickly say Jennifer, I am learning more and more that there is a vast difference between full-blown Autism and Asperger’s, despite being on the same ‘spectrum’. I am sorry to hear this about your brother, one of my cousin’s eldest son is also badly autistic.

        My daughter and I discuss this quite frequently and in fact I’m planning on doing more posts on this very subject. I am always being asked just what Asperger’s is and so I hope that I can find a way through my blog to run a sort of a series at some point as a way to not only explain it better to others but also to myself!!

        I look forward to seeing you in the press quite soon then… 😉

      • I’d love to read those post of yours. I feel that the autistic spectrum in general isn’t really represented or explained well. Whenever I see programs on it, or if it’s on the news, I’m more often than not left incredibly annoyed because they never seem to explain enough. My mother always used to say to me that Autism and Asperger’s are on opposite ends of the scale. Asperger’s the mild end, Autism the severe. Though, Autism has its own mini-spectrum, because full-blown autism still differs from person to person! But, due to my life experiences, I never seem to regard Asperger’s as on the Autistic spectrum.. I’m not sure why. I think it’s slightly unfair of me.

        Haha, well let’s hope so!

      • This is precisely what I hope to better learn and explain! I’m starting with an interview with my daughter at the end of the week as you know, so let’s see what comes from that! It is a minefield though and I know just what you mean. My daughter refuses to read anything or watch anything about Asperger’s as she feels that it is so badly misunderstood and just makes her angry. Well, hopefully I can get down to these posts and soon 🙂

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

