There Is Light

Quite recently I’ve been conversing with particular individuals and got the feeling that the world – humanity – is sighing at the moment. People I care about are sighing, and so am I. An everlasting sigh seems to be the song of my soul. But anyway, here I am writing something about it. It upsets me to see people caught under a rain cloud, so I will do all I possibly can to help them find the sun again. But I often ask myself: what can I do? Well, the only thing at which I am remotely able is crafting words… and so it is by words that I hope to help another, if only offering simple words of encouragement and hope.

Gloom and misery is everywhere we turn, or so it would seem. At least that’s the picture the media likes to paint. What colour are the words we read in our newspapers? BLACK. Darkness. These words speak of murder, kidnappings, rape, abuse, war, the low economy, the deficit, poverty, disasters (both natural and man-made). I could go on, I really could, but the point of this post is not to depress people, so stick with me, guys. This gets better.

With such darkness in the world, is it any wonder we love the sun? What a beautiful light it is shining down upon us, brightening the world into daytime and making us forget the shadows lingering around. Do you think that’s why so many people love the summer, because of the lengthy, light evenings, keeping the world lit just for that little bit longer? Do you think that’s why so many people hate the winter, because of the lengthy, dark evenings, plummeting us all into night for far longer than we can bear?

So the sun may be gone having sunk down beyond the horizon, but light can still be seen. What am I talking about? You know what I’m talking about. Everybody knows what I’m talking about. It just slips our minds, for the sun is such a strong character in the sky, and the other? Not so much. Yet even so, we are always forgiven, for this light never ceases. The light from the MOON. The moon is a shy little thing, don’t you think? It doesn’t demand attention like the sun, nor does it get carried away and burn our skin, and it takes about a month for it to muster up the courage to reveal its full self to us before waning back into hiding again. The sun, however, is a little bit selfish. It claims all light as its own during the day, shining so bright that it blocks out everything else in the sky. We see that one star: the big, warm, bright sun. But the moon likes to share the stage with all the billions of other stars above, and we see all their light as well as the moon’s.

I think we should remember that. The night – the darkness – does not need to be feared, as moonlight is the most precious source of light in this world, if only for what it can symbolise. I wrote something down the other day, something that just popped into my head, and that is ultimately the reason for writing this post. Hope.

For anyone whose soul is sighing, for anyone who is overcome by darkness, this is for you:

eidtil

In case you can’t read my handwriting, I shall translate the sprawl:

Silver moonlight in the night

shines down for all to see,

so where can the shadows hide

when even in darkness THERE IS LIGHT?

There is light, always. Open your eyes and you will see.

17 responses to “There Is Light

  1. I always love the moon. His chisled face. His ability to close one eye as much as he can to steal a nap – a nod at his leisure! Or, be BIG AND BRIGHT on other occassions.

    Never have I looked for my shadow on a moonlit night, though. Probably should some day….er night, I mean!.

    And when the moon goes out for a bit, all the twinkling of a multitude of little lights still can’t make up the light from the sun’s lesser chum.

    Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚ Smiling! Hope you are too. Happy sigh…..

    rick

    • He’s a cool guy.

      Maybe not looking for your shadow isn’t a bad thing. No need to try to look for darkness when so preoccupied with the light. And indeed the stars are there when the moon is hiding!

      I’m smiling! Happier sighs are becoming more frequent ๐Ÿ™‚

      • So glad for happy sighs…! that cool-guy moon is near full and is shrouded by thin clouds right now in the western sky. He has packed his lunch and is headed your way.

        Sun will be up in a minute – probable having breakfast now.

        Agreed on shadow. Nix that idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Aha, the sun is on lunch over here! I’ll be sure to welcome the cool-guy moon when he shows himself tonight. It’s funny to think you’re just saying goodbye to him, or is that just me?

      • I feel the sun may be full when he arrives. But now I think he has many breakfasts a day. Lucky ….

        Yes I think of that cool-guy and what he is up to all day…i know I see him sneak in to be with the sun some days – something those little-lights can’t do…poor little-lights ๐Ÿ™‚

        Saying goodbye to cool-guy … he is now swallowed by clouds :/ not a proper send off.

        He’ll be back, I am sure.

  2. The beautiful moon, such a precious friend. I’ve always loved it more than the sun. I’m very excited for the full moon tomorrow night. Last night, actually, I woke up ’round two or so (cat woke me up puking on the bed, yum yum :P), and saw my bed was bathed in the brightest moonlight. If I hadn’t been a little frustrated and tired, I would’ve loved to sit there for a while and enjoy it.

    This is such an inspiring post, so wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The moon is the best.

      That is a beautiful way to be awoken ๐Ÿ˜‰ Out of everywhere in the entire house, why do they feel the need to puke on the bed? I mean seriously. That is lovely though – the moon, I mean, not cat sick! aha. Moonlight is so pwitty ๐Ÿ™‚

      Well, the intention was to inspire a little bit, so I’m glad you say so ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you.

      • Geez, I have no idea. It’s like some twisted gesture of affection or something ๐Ÿ˜›

        I was actually disappointed since Friday was so cloudy and I couldn’t see the full moon, but then on Saturday it was big, low, and bright orange, and the sky was perfectly clear to show all the stars, so it completely made up for that!

        You’re welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I think a lot of what you say about people and summer/winter is true. I do enjoy the long evening light, yet I have always found the dark nights much ‘warmer’. Cozier.

    Twas a full moon as we went into Valentine’s Day. How jolly romantic. I love the moon. You can sit and stare at it, without damaging your eyes (or your skin, for that matter.) Hmm, I feel that’s somewhat less eloquent than what has been contributed thus far. Ah well.

    Oh, and your handwriting is AMAZING. I’m very jealous.

    • You’re a fellow winter-lover! Of course you would say the winter nights are cosier, because they are. FACT, right there ๐Ÿ˜‰

      N’aawwwww, how jolly romantic indeed. Though, rather than walk hand in hand under the moonlight with someone, I’ll be howling to the full moon with my dog. The moon is the most precious, beautiful amazing thing ever. That is another fact ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yeah, I love being able to stare at the moon without the fear of blinding yourself. Do you see the man in the moon?

      Aha, why thank you! Throughout my life, I’ve easily had more comments on my handwriting and hair than anything else. Someone once said to me, “Your handwriting looks like it’s from the 1800s.” It doesn’t really, though I wish it did! That would be cool. The handwriting back then was amazing.

      • Haha, I was thinking exactly that, about the handwriting! It does certainly look very vintage. I miss handwriting – it’s so rarely seen, these days. We should all embrace penmanship! Communications would mean so much more.

      • Indeed, I agree. I write letters to certain people though! So I embrace the penmanship ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s cool, I love doing it. There is definitely something more personal and meaningful in handwritten things.

      • Good for you! I try to write letters when I can, though I can’t remember the last time I received one. I get very excited when I do, though ๐Ÿ˜› just the feel of it is special these days. It will always trounce anything digital.

  4. Thank you Jenny Jen Jen for gifting your unique brand of ‘silver moonlight’ to those of us who are sighing.. Twilight and silver moonlight. There is always hope. Beautiful post.

    • I must have missed your comment at the time because I never realised you commented at all. My apologies! But now I am relying, though it is horribly late. But, better late than never.

      There is always hope indeed, and I love to be reminded of that when I gaze up and see the stars and the moon. Such pretty lights when all else around is dark. And they’ll never go out ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Stay Strong | Jennifer K. Marsh

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

