Rainbow Puzzle – World Autism Awareness Day

So, I’m reblogging my own post on my own blog, because today is a certain day and this post reflects that. It’s important to me, I suppose, and thus, I want to share it with as many people as I can.

I would have shared this way earlier in the day, but I was at work, and then I had to stay late to watch this presentation thing with all the other staff members… It was like a school assembly, us all sitting there in silence on our best behaviour.

But anyway, today is World Autism Awareness Day.

Jennifer K. Marsh

Today is 2nd April. Today is World Autism Awareness Day.

Autism is a lifelong developmental disability that affects how a person communicates with, and relates to, other people. It also affects how they make sense of the world around them. It is a spectrum condition, which means the condition affects each individual differently, ranging from mild to severe. Children with autistic disorder usually have significant problems with language, social interaction and behaviour. Many children with autistic disorder also have learning difficulties and below-average intelligence.

I have always said that autism is something people will never understand unless they are directly affected by it – live with day in, day out. I still believe this, and I always will. Perhaps people can empathise, but they cannot understand. I have an elder brother with quite severe autism, and I have never lived my life being unaware of the disability. If I’m being honest with myself, I…

View original post 629 more words

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

