Liebster Award

Second award post – one more to come. I’m getting through these quickly, not because I don’t appreciate them – ’cause I do – but because I want to move onto other things, i.e. more creativity. I’m having serious withdrawal symptoms, and I don’t like it. Life needs to stop getting in the way of my creativity pleasethankyouokay. I woke up in another foul mood today, I’m sorry to say, and turned down the chance to spend the day with my mother to instead sulk and and brood and cry and slam everything I touch and, most importantly, to actually do some writing for Book 2 – those reasons are in addition to the fact that I still have a cripple knee, so can’t walk far, and I have no money at the moment.

Side note: I have accepted that I am never, ever going to finish this book. Life hates me. But you know, it’s cool. Whatever.

But let’s move onto to more cheery notions.

liebster-award-pfl

A big, kind, happy – all the very pleasant and grateful adjectives – thank you to PP1MT over at The PewPew Diaries for nominating me for this award. Thank you for thinking of me! We haven’t really been following each other’s blogs all that long either, so it makes it all the more appreciated.

Here are the rules:

1) Post the Liebster Award graphic on your site.
2) Thank the blogger who nominated your blog.
3) Answer the 10 questions from the post of the person who nominated them.
4) The nominee will nominate 10 other blogs who have less than 200 followers.
5) The nominee will then create 10 questions of their own for their nominated bloggers to answer in their Liebster post.

Question Time!

So, here are the questions PP1MT asked, and here are my answers…

Q: What is the creepiest thing someone ever said to you?

A: In my upper school, there was this really creepy caretaker guy who lingered about all the time and he was the guy you were sent to for the worst detentions. If you were with Ade, you knew you were in the mire, quite frankly. Everyone hated him, and every single girl called him a perv (’cause he was). Anyway, he was lingering in an assembly of mine once, and I happened to be sent to the back of the room during it for laughing, or talking – whatever it was – where Ade was stood by the back double doors of good ole Becket Hall. Afterwards, when the room was cleared out, my Head of Year called me to the front with a frown, and as I was walking down the aisle between the chairs, Ade came up beside me and started talking:

*tut, tut* “You’ve been a bad girl, Jenny.” *chews gum annoyingly*

*I look at him strangely*

“It’s a shame schools can’t cane anymore, eh? You need a good spanking.”

*power walk away from him to face the wrath of Mr. Foster*

Horrific.

Q: You wake up from a coma; what is the first thing you want to know?

A: I had a pretty bad accident in August 2013, and although I was never in a coma, I had a head injury and was knocked out and concussed. There is a whole section I cannot – and will never – remember. When my head finally started to clear days later, I remember thinking, ‘I don’t even want to know.’ I still think that. So, if I awoke from a coma, I probably wouldn’t want to know anything. I’d just be thankful that I had awoken in the first place.

Q: What is a MUST-SEE movie that has been swept under the radar?

A: I’m not really that much of a film person, so I’m probably not the one to answer this…

Q: What is the greatest plot twist of your life?

A: Well, I’ve never really lived with the aim that ‘my life will play out this way’, so there hasn’t really been much room for dramatic plot twists in my life. Having said that, I guess there is something that always takes me somewhat aback when I think about it – perhaps it’s not really a plot twist, but it’s as close as we’re going to get.

Throughout life, people can develop certain and particular bothers towards any given thing. One of these ‘bothers’ of mine happens to be how much the world (specifically the UK) seems to be up America’s arse. Now, please understand that I have nothing against America whatsoever – it’s a country full of lovely people! – but it can get a teeny bit annoying when your own country seems to bow down to everything you do or say. Because of this, I was guilty of moaning about America from time to time, to the extent where some of my friends used to say, “I’d laugh so much if you end up with an American husband or something.” (For the record, so would I). But, time went on, and I became an independent author. Now, given I am British, living in my homeland, one would assume that it would be in your homeland where you would have more success, right? It would only be natural. But no. Ever since day one, I have sold more books in the United States of America. How does that even work? I really don’t understand it. So, a huge, heartfelt thank you to America! Needless to say, I don’t often moan about the States anymore. I just think it’s ironic how the country I once moaned most about turned out to be my most supportive one, even over my own country. WHAT’S UP WITH YOU, BRITAIN?! I jest, of course, but on a serious note, it is a slightly curious – and mildly miffing – development. In addition to this, I’ve also ended up travelling to America more than any other country, and I’ve always felt disconcertingly ‘at home’ there, despite all I’ve said. Again, I don’t understand it.

So, to summarise: The USA is the greatest plot twist of my life.

Dear Americans, I’m very sorry for moaning about your country. Please accept my most humble apologies. To make it up to you, I shall post a picture of your flag, which I took during my most recent visit to your wonderfully welcoming country. I’m not sure what posting a photo of your flag is actually going to achieve here, but let’s look at this somewhat symbolically: I’m a Briton praising, thanking and apologising to America, and I am openly admitting that I was wrong and displaying your flag over my own country’s.  That doesn’t happen often on this side of the pond, let’s be honest! 😉 
However, no matter what, I will still always be annoyed about my country trying to copy yours. Sorry.

usflag

Observe the flag. Are we all friends now? Stupendous.

Q: What is the laziest thing you’ve ever done?

A: One Christmas Day, I did not change out of my pyjamas, and so I stayed in them ALL day. That’s probably the pinnacle of my laziness, ever. I mean, of all the days not to make an effort… :/

Q: A free PC game that you think everyone should have?

A: Haha, years and years ago, there was this free online game thing I played called Cake Mania. I cannot remember how I stumbled across it, but you basically just made the cakes the customers wanted… I used to come home from a horrible day and make cakes on this game, whiling away many an hour. It was actually a pretty good stress-reliever.

Q: What is the meanest thing you’ve ever done to someone?

A: Oooo, goodness. I live my life trying to be as kind as I possibly can to people, so I’d like to think I don’t ever do mean things. Though, I am certain I’ve done some cruel stuff along the lines – we’re all flawed, after all. But I cannot for the life of me think of anything…

Q: Worst life decision?

A: My worst life decision was probably the attitude I decided to maintain throughout my school/education years. I could have done so much with myself and my life, but instead I spent my time being an idiot and, thus, ruined my educational/career chances. I’ve basically just made life as difficult as I possibly could for myself. But hey ho, I like a challenge! 😉 Besides, who gives a monkeys about qualifications, at the end of the day? Being in possession of a piece of paper doesn’t make you any more or less capable than someone who is not in possession of said piece of paper.

Q: What was your “I’m too old for this shit” moment?

A: You know, I didn’t have clue what to put for this one until I had a conversation with someone about this topic. Theme parks. I’d rather not plummet to my death by falling off a roller coaster, thanks.

Q: What is your golden rule?

A: My golden rule in life is the same as the Ilimoskus’ golden rule. Funny how that works, right? 😉 That golden rule is this:

Compassion and respect, for all of nature and for every being: it’s all the world will ever need.

Look, I made it ‘gold’ and everything.

Does that rule need explaining? Not really, but I shall anyway.

All anyone or anything will ever need in life is merely some compassion and respect, and the world will be gracious in return.

I do not care for people who disrespect others. I do not care for people who disrespect animals. I do not care for people who disrespect trees, or nature in general. Nor do the Ilimoskus. You get what you give: if you show the world cruelty and disrespect, why should it treat you kindly in return?

My Nominations

Here are the blogs I’m nominating. Obviously, it’s up to them whether or not they want to participate in this, and answer my questions which are to follow. Don’t worry: I shall not grass you up to the WordPress Police should you not reciprocate this award.

The Tip of the Iceberg

God, Autism, and Me

Soul Passages Astrology

Matt Stewart

Sparkly Arthur

Concerning Writing

Off the Farm

Arctic Silver

Again, I have not nominated the correct number of blogs, but everyone I follow has a million followers anyway, so, I was rather limited for choice. I may have exaggerated somewhat in my previous sentence.

My 10 Questions

And finally, here are the 10 questions my nominees can answer, if they so wish. No pressure here, guys, this is peaceful affair. Please enjoy the incredible lack of un-originality of these questions.

1) What has been one of your most hilariously embarrassing moments? 

2) If you were a bird, where would you go?

3) Fire, earth, air or water? – I kinda had to ask that. I am the creator of a fantasy race of elemental beings, after all…

4) What is your favourite season, and why? – Again, kinda had to be asked, given my involvement with nature

5) What’s your least favourite house chore?

6) Have you ever had a simple moment that made you stop and question everything? If so, what was it?

7) What/who is your greatest source of inspiration?

8) What’s your most irrational fear?

9) Which attribute is most important to you: Courage, Freedom, Strength or Wisdom?

10) What’s your favourite smell?

See here for another Liebster Award post

5 responses to “Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award: Round 2 | Jennifer K. Marsh

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

