Imagine Award and Lighthouse Award [Spread Your Wings and Touch the Sky]

The third and last award post! I can hear your sighs of relief as I type. It was supposed to be only one more award, but then Mr. Stevick Steven nominated me for another and disrupted my plans. How inconsiderate. JOKING! Thank you very, very much, Steven, they mean a lot! Atypically for me, I am rather excited about these two awards, for reasons I shall explain in just a moment.

So, as mentioned, Steven from moodsaplently (or simply ‘S’) nominated me, firstly, for the Imagine Award, whereby its purpose is to highlight blogs which make special use of creativity and passion.

the-imagine-award

According to the rules, I must state 3-5 reasons why I like the S blog, and, of course, the Hewerishly handsome Steven himself:

>> His humour is simply fantastic. It really is the type humour which makes me giggle most of all.

>> He shares his amazing drawings/portraits regularly, and they are such a treat. One of these was Nick Hewer (i.e. a self portrait)

>> He has such inner strength and light which he should always remember! <- I hope you’re paying attention, Stevick, or I will go all Mother Jenny on you, despite the fact I’m not actually a mother, but shhhh. He is not shy to admit on his blog that he is low, that he is struggling, but still he comes into the world of WordPress and makes others smile with his words, or brightens up a day, and that is a truly wonderful thing.

>> He is a creative spark! I like creativity.

>> This probably shouldn’t be a reason, but we have an insane amount in common, and when I say ‘insane amount’, I seriously mean that. It borders on creepy. But, it’s always nice when you have things in common with people.

And now, in accordance with the rules, I am to nominate 3-5 blogs for the Imagine Award:

Maugryph’s Blog

Valourborn

The Eye-Dancers

Now, did I not say I was excited about these awards? Why? As though Steven could read my thoughts, these two awards reflect everything going on in my mind at the moment – more so than usual, anyway. Regarding the Imagine Award, I think it’s fair to say that I’m quite a creative individual, and so receiving an award regarding imagination in all its glory, well, it’s always nice!

The perception the world seems to have with imagination being akin to unicorns prancing upon – or beneath – rainbows really does irritate me, though. This is probably because I’m Little Miss Pedantic, but where did this associate between unicorns and rainbows come from?? Unicorns, mythologically, do not prance gleefully with rainbows, but rather keep themselves incredibly elusive while being desperately proud, pure, noble, strong, and, to some degree, fierce creatures, said only ever to approach virgin maidens, which is why Medieval writers associated them with Christ, who “raised up a horn of salvation” and dwelt in the womb of the Virgin Mary. Additionally, they are not the harmlessly frivolous creatures the world perceives them as today, but they were said to actually kill people who tried to catch them, or who pretended to be a virgin maiden.

I appreciate I am not being overly creative or imaginative right now. Allow me to rectify this issue.

I would love to be able to say I know all this about unicorns because I secretly have one residing in the little copse of trees in my back garden, and he spends many an hour telling me of his kind while painting rainbows with the magical touch of his hooves and creating a gloriously paradisal setting by turning early morning dewdrops into diamonds, but, alas, it is not so. I read some books.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the magical notion of unicorns, but magical in the sense of beautiful mystery, not dancing with leprechauns and fairies (and don’t get me started on fairies, that’s all wrong, too). Although I acknowledge the idea of the unicorn is something that has played on human imagination throughout the ages, personally I don’t think they should be the image of creativity. I have always viewed imagination/creativity to belong to the humble bird. Besides, if rainbows must be in the frame, then it is a bird that can fly away and ‘touch’ the sky-path of colour and dab the tips of its feather into the palette to paint the world as it sees fit. Birds are also the symbol of freedom, right? They are free to fly anywhere they like in the realm of IMAGINATION.

Sorry, that had to be done. But look, a rainbow!

Birds can swoop low or soar high; they can go wherever the urge takes them. And so can we, for our minds are birds, and they possess wings just waiting to stretch out and fly! Think of everything we could touch in the sky.

Which leads me nicely onto the next award.

***

Steven then nominated me for the Lighthouse Award, which is for blogs that bring light to a dark world.

the-lighthouse-award

This award excites me in equal amounts as the first one (and I appreciate I haven’t properly explained why I’m excited, but I’ll get to that at the end of this post). Firstly, this award seemed like a bit of a “coinkydink”, as Stevick put it. Earlier on in the day, before I saw that he had so kindly nominated me for this award, I was listening to a song that was strangely relevant:

‘A spark soaring down through the pouring rain and restoring life to the lighthouse. A slow motion wave on the ocean stirs my emotion up like a raincloud. When did the sky turn black? And when will the light come back?’ – Beautiful Times by Owl City (good ol’ Owl City, eh)

Anyone who follows my blog, or who has read my book, will probably already know how much I love to play with the concept of light and dark. It is something that means a lot to me, and is something I will always keep in my writing. It goes without saying, then, that the deeper, creative meaning behind lighthouses makes me, quite literally, beam. Inside and out.

Perhaps light and dark doesn’t have such endless possibilities as with a flying bird, but still, I believe it can be interpreted in a variety of ways. After all, rainbows are not the only things in the sky. What about the sun? The moon? The stars? There is endless light in the sky, so as long as you can see it, believe it, you will always hold its uplifting message in the palms of your hands – or nestled beneath your feathers 😉 And what about the light of the Son…?

The rules say I must share up to three ways in which I like to help people. Well…

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love– 1 Corinthians 13:13

It says in the Bible that money is the root of all evil, so why not say love is the root of all that is good? For you cannot help another if you do not have love in your heart, can you? Kindness, compassion, charity – these are all products of love. So, that is my answer, plain and simple. Love.

Though, I also like to help people with words, whenever possible. I am a writer at heart, after all.

A good friend of mine came to visit me the other day, and, as he put it, we “gatecrashed Spring Harvest for the day.” Despite the fact I nearly threw him out his wheelchair (neither of us were paying attention ’cause we were looking at something, and I rammed the chair straight into the kerb. This is what happens when I’m left in charge), we had a really brilliant day. While I was there, I saw a top which I simply fell in love with, for some reason (I’m never like that with clothes), and my friend SO KINDLY treated me to it, even though I was there for about ten minutes trying to talk him out of it. But we must humbly receive.

lovelifelivelove

I think that top to be quite appropriate right now, don’t you? You see that orange strip on the sleeve? John 15:9.

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love.

But moving on from love, everyone wants a light in the dark, don’t they? Whether your light is Jesus, or whether your light is merely the meaning behind it all, that longing is the same. When you can see – or find – a light in the dark, does it not seem even more beautiful than you ever thought possible? It is a most precious thing.

Here are my nominations for the Lighthouse Award. The following are my lights in the dark. They are the lighthouse when I feel lost at sea, guiding me back to shore with a smile. They are the sun brightening my day. They are the stars glistening when the world falls into shadow. They are friends.

Rick at Jesus, Light of the World

Alex at Valourborn

James Radcliffe

Dear Sherri P at A View from My Summerhouse

Of course, Steven himself is also a lighthouse of mine.

***

So, there we have it. I am finished with awards. Though, now let me quickly explain further why these two mean so much. You may have already got the jist of it, but imagination/creativity is my life, given the story I am in the middle of writing as an author, and light in the dark is a massive part of my inspiration. I said in an earlier post (the Sunshine Award, I think) that I am going to start posting far more creative things from now on. When I first started this blog, I did so with the intention that this would be my ‘author blog’, and that I would promote my book and story through it… Well, I haven’t done that at all, really. So, I finally decided I would start to do that. If creative is what I am, I should be sharing that with the world, through stories and poems and through Ilimoskus itself.

And, do you know what? I’m actually going to start talking about my book more. Why shouldn’t I? I’ve always been shhhh hush hush about it, as though I am almost embarrassed to say that I have written a story. Well, that’s ridiculous, quite frankly. Get a grip, Jennifer. And again, do you know what? I have always played down how much Ilimoskus was inspired by my faith (that is, Christianity) in fear that it would put people off reading it, for I would hate them to think it’s a preachy tale (because it really isn’t), and also because I never particularly wanted people questioning me about it. But, no longer.

ILIMOSKUS is an environmental fantasy tale about a race of elemental beings (fire, earth, air and water) who live on Earth, unbeknown to humans. The first book of the trilogy is Times of Old, which takes the reader into a stark collision between fantasy and reality. It was inspired by nature, and God, and life. So there we go. 

  • It is fantasy because I love the imagination and freedom fantasy gives.
  • It is environmental because I love nature and the environment, and I care for it greatly. The world seriously needs to respect it more.
  • There is a stark collision between fantasy and reality because… read this post.
  • It is a trilogy because only when the three are put together is the whole story told. They are a trinity: three distinct existences, yet one tale. Does that remind you of anything? *coughs* The Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit *coughs*
  • It was inspired by nature because, as I said, I love nature, and I spend so much of my time looking at it, being with it, walking in it.
  • It was inspired by GOD because He is everything, and everywhere. And there is so much in between the lines of my story linking to Him. In fact, half the time it’s not even in between the lines, because characters just full on blurt it. He IS the lines, and the words. If you do happen to read my story, look at the Ilimoskus themselves. Just look. (How terribly convoluted of me there, but I can’t be giving it all away 😉 ).
  • It was inspired by life because, as with everyone, I’ve had some less ideal times, and writing is how I heal myself. I take my negativity and pain and turn it into something good, something creative, something priceless. Writing is my escape, but it is also my duty. Ilimoskus is a story of life. Birth, death, suffering, laughter, friendship, love, guilt, secrets, courage, wisdom, hope, faith, duty, betrayal, reconciliation, conflict, growing up! But, out of everything, the emotion is what it’s all about. At least for me.

“May the light from your heart always guide you”

Hey, look: light!

If you do actually have any questions about Ilimoskus, contact me and I’ll get back to you.

All glory to the Lord, because, without Him, I would be nothing. And Ilimoskus would not exist.

I hope everyone has a lovely Easter. Let’s think about the true meaning, and not just gorge on chocolate 😉

20 responses to “Imagine Award and Lighthouse Award [Spread Your Wings and Touch the Sky]

  1. Dear Jenny Jen Jen, this post is so beautifully rich, tender, truth-filled, open and honest. You do write wonderfully, you capture the deep meaning from your heart and the hearts of those reading. You’ve captured mine, that’s for sure (and not just because you so very kindly nominated me for The Lighthouse Award!!) but for your reasons for doing so. You have taken my breath away with the depth of your expression. I am extremely humbled and honoured to read all that I read here. Thank you so much my dear friend. I am going to put my awards post out next week so of course will include this one.
    Oh, and I ADORE Sponge Bob…used to watch him all the time with the kids. I think I’m just a big child actually…
    Love what you wrote about unicorns…excellent…
    Love the-shirt too…someone’s been shopping 😉
    A blessed, joy-filled and peaceful Easter to you dear one.
    With love, prayers and hugs…Sherri P 🙂 xxx

    • I am afraid I am incredibly guilty of letting my heart, expression and emotion to slip out through my words and writing, and honesty often pours from me. But if I can touch other hearts in some way by doing that, I think it can be a special thing! Thank you for your lovely words, you’re always so good to me!

      Spongebob is so fantastic, isn’t he?! (It’s okay, we’re all children here, Sherri 😉 ) I was newer episodes while in America – watching with my young cousins, I might add! – but they haven’t got a thing on the older episodes. They are priceless.

      I love my t-shirt also 😛 Words to live by, they are.

      Blessings always, dear friend! Grace be with you, x

      • There is nothing to feel guilty about at all!! What better way is there to write? None, as far as I’m concerned…and you do indeed touch many hearts with your beautiful, heartfelt writing…
        I agree, the older episodes are much better. My middle son had a friend who would come over to play and spend the night but in the morning it would be Aspie D and the friend eating cereal on the couch and watching Sponge Bob while Nicky was still asleep upstairs, oblivious 🙂
        Grace be with you too dear friend, and I hope you have a great week and that you are feeling better all round 🙂 xx

      • Heh, I suppose so. It’s just, sometimes, being so honest can get you into a bit of a pickle. I am most definitely talking from experience here 😉
        Ha, you know, if I saw an old episode of Spongebob on TV, I would so watch it! We’re all just big kids at heart, aren’t we? 😛
        Thanks dear Sherri P! I wish the same for you. It may be raining as I type this, but those blue skies are still right behind the clouds 🙂 There is always hope, and there is always happiness not far from view. x

  2. Hope today is wonderful Seems cold in Minehead today… Don’t know why! Fog and mist over Exmoor? Maybe?

    Great you got spend some time with a friend 🙂

    You know you are a special and unique creation of God. One happy Jenny Marsh, created in love by the Lord. No one can ever take that from you!

    Say a prayer, Jenny, and thank God for this wonderful life. You are in my prayers and I am glad to know you.

    Rick

    • It was a little bit chilly around here the other day!

      I dearly needed that time with my friend, I think. It did me the world of good! It’s kind of crazy how much that one day lifted my spirits.

      Thank you, Rick – bless you! So glad to know you also. I’m thankful every day for the many blessings in my life, even when I’m a nb 😉

  3. Pingback: Promises, Awards And One Retro Drawing | A View From My Summerhouse

  4. Haha, how inconsiderate of me indeed, nominating someone who horrible undeserving of such prestige.

    JOKING! They fit you perfectly, like a mane of troublesome, rebellious curly hair. The hilarious but oh so true over-assessment of the award design proved that beyond any doubt. Creativity and inquiry coursing.

    You have said such nice things about me, again. Thank you, very much. I am glad that it doesn’t just come across as me whingeing. There are few better things you can be told, than the fact that you have brightened up a day… wow. You most certainly do the same… hence the nomination! 🙂

    • That unicorn rambling of mine is EXACTLY what happens to me in supermarkets. I just do not know what comes over me. I cannot help myself.

      Indeed, it is a lovely thing to know you help someone in such a way. Thanks, Steven 🙂 Day-brightening buddies! 😉

  5. Thank you again for the awards! They have beautiful meanings and they certainly do reflect your gifts. Your words here have beyond proved that. You are a creative beacon and I consider myself incredibly blessed to have met you. 🙂

    • It’s my pleasure, honestly ^^ They are particularly beautiful awards, you’re right!

      Aw, thank you so much 🙂 I too consider myself blessed! You were actually the first person I really spoke to on WordPress, and most definitely my first friend 🙂

      • Aw I’m honoured to have been the first ❤ You too, actually, were one of the first friends I made here whom I still talk to 🙂 It never ceases to amaze me, that making a blog has also made me such good friends!

      • It truly is amazing, isn’t it? As much as I dislike technology, I cannot deny that it is so touching how it can bring people together from all across the globe. It such a hopeful, wonderful thing to experience. And it just goes to prove that friendship knows no barriers 🙂

      • It’s true! As much as technology can spread the more negative aspects of socialization, it can also be an incredibly positive agent. It helps especially with awareness and a new perspective–just talking to you about some of the little differences between our corners of the world has been eye-opening in a really great way 🙂

  6. Pingback: An Awards Extravaganza, and . . . Breaking the Rules! | Eye-Dancers

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

