Sipra Kei! (That is, Celebrate One Hundred!)

“Celebrate good times, COME ON!”

It’s time to crack out those party poppers and toot those party horns while wearing a most dashing cone hat where its elastic cuts off blood circulation under your chin. And I shall bake a marvellous cake appropriately decorated with ‘100’ iced across the top, and you shall eat it and all will be splendid.

But do not be mistaken in thinking that we are celebrating an 100th birthday, oh no. You would be tremendously mistaken, in fact. So, what is this one hundred all about? Let’s see if you can guess…

If you have followed my blog for any length of time, you are likely to be aware that I am in the process of writing Book 2 of the Ilimoskus trilogy. You are also likely to be aware that is has been an utter NIGHTMARE. Technically, I have been ‘working’ on Book 2 since November 2012, would you believe it (ugh, the thought), but self-publishing Book 1 took up so much of my time I cannot even tell you, and so I had to leave Book 2 completely for a while. In April 2013, Times of Old was published out in the big, wide world, so I foolishly assumed that I would be able to work on the second book again. Goodness knows how many blog posts I’ve done where I claim to be “back on the case with writing Book 2!” only to write another post a few months later claiming the exact same thing, thus implying I never actually got back on the case at all. Because I hadn’t. And that was because, emotionally (and physically, for a while), my life carelessly threw me about all over the place, and I just couldn’t do it. Everything regarding Book 2 had been going wrong, or badly, or just not at all. Writing Book 2 had been struggle after struggle, hardship after hardship, misery after misery. The whole experience felt like I was running as fast as I possibly could, but never moved anywhere – you know, like in those horrible dreams – and if I did miraculously run at all, it was only to stumble over my own two feet and fall flat on my face.

Have you noticed something? I’m using past tense. I would hate to speak too soon, but things have been different with Book 2 recently. There hasn’t been struggle and hardship and misery – or, at least, not like it was before. It suddenly feels as though my vision has been relieved of some dense fog that had been clouding it the whole time, and when I try to run now, I can actually move forwards. Slowly, perhaps, but movement nonetheless. But I can see clearly now, so even if I do stumble, I can see where I’m placing my feet.

“I can see clearly now, the rain is gone”

Do forgive these sudden bursts of song, I am just so overjoyed

“Oh, I feel overjoyed (when you listen to my woooooords)”

Little bit of Bastille, right there

Have you guessed what one hundred is about yet? The other day, I reached a landmark point with Book 2…

I have broken the 100 page mark, my friends!

I could still scream with joy, even though this happened a few days ago. It really did – does – feel like a miracle. Okay, some people out there might be reading this thinking, ‘She’s been working on Book 2 since November 2012 (!!) and she’s only just written 100 pages?!?’ Well, yes, basically. But so what? Were you me, experiencing my life with my mind/emotions as I did, you would understand, and you would also appreciate just how monumental this is for me. I really like to think of this as a turning point. THIS IS IT. Book 2 is getting serious, it’s coming, be prepared 😉 I mean, given previous rates of progress, I probably won’t be done until 2018, but you know. Who’s counting?

Given this is a special occasion, I am going to treat you all.

Admittedly, this isn’t much of a treat because I cannot draw, but still.

bk1-chpt5-pg34

As the smoke faded away, Fii’dezrhu saw Nax making his move, for he was not about to waste this perfect opportunity.

“Slowly, Nax – move slowly,” Fii’dezrhu whispered as Nax untied his rope.

He made a large loop and poised himself ready to lasso. Tossing the rope down from the tree, it slipped neatly over the orneck’s neck, but as he tugged it, the orneck charged away, yanking him out of the tree. He thumped to the ground and was briskly dragged along, wailing as he went, with leaves and dirt flying into his face.

Fii’dezrhu laughed at his friend’s misfortune, naturally. 

– Times of Old, chapter 5, pg. 34

So, here we have a poorly done sketch of mine, depicting this precise moment in Book 1. As you can see, Nax is in the process of being dragged out of the tree by the orneck (which, if anyone’s wondering, is basically a fire horse), while Fii’dezrhu – Nax’s best buddy – is laughing at him. As any best friend would, right?

***

I’ve always distinguished my landmarks by 100 pages at a time, so maybe, when I reach 200, I’ll treat you all again 😉

On a heartfelt note, though: thank you for the support and encouragement, and thank you for being so patient! You’re all amazing.

19 responses to “Sipra Kei! (That is, Celebrate One Hundred!)

  1. Congratulations on reaching a hundred pages! Would that be one hundred pages in a finished book format or in Word?

    And I like your drawing there! I sketch out scenes and characters from my novels as well. I’ve never been brave enough to share them on my blog yet. 😉

    ~ Kayla

    • Thank you! 😀 So uplifting to reach that point, especially given how unbelievably hard everything’s been the past year. Well, it’s only in Word, but formatted as the book itself would be.

      Ha, thanks! I never do the scenes/characters justice with my poor art skills, but I think it’s nice to share with everyone nonetheless. And you know, it doesn’t really matter if my drawings are poor anyway, because it’s only there for the general gist! I think people like to see the author’s own interpretation or imagination like that, though 🙂 Maybe one day you could pluck up the courage! 😉

    • Thanks, Tom 🙂 Ha, yes, writing a book is indeed hard work! You’ll get it out eventually, just don’t force it. One thing I have learnt is that it will come when it comes, it will happen when it happens. If you try to force it you become stressed, and if you are stressed you cannot write. All a game of patience, determination and balance!

  2. Well I take my hat off to you Jenny Jen Jen because I know just what you are going through – I’m like that with my book, keep saying I’m writing, then not, then I am, then not. So, if I get a few pages done it’s amazing! But well done you, 100 pages, wow! You ARE doing it, and I’m so proud of you! Keep going and press through, you WILL do it 🙂

  3. Congratulations!! You’ve described the slump/euphoria of breakthrough so amazingly well. I’m stuck (well not so much stuck as sludgy) on my own Book 2 – you’ve given me hope that I will get past it – thank you!!

    • Thank you! I’m glad to hear you found some hope in it. Hope can never be handed around too freely, if you ask me 🙂 I’m sure you’ll get past your sludgy stage – all writers have been there! Just keep at it with your grit determination – though with an element of patience – and you’ll be unstoppable.

      Thank you for stopping by, and for the follow!

  4. Congratulations, Jenny! That is great news. I know exactly what it’s like to get bogged down while writing a novel, and when the forward momentum returns, it is a very uplifting feeling. I am in the process of writing the sequel to The Eye-Dancers, and progress has been very slow, but there has been progress.:) Each new chapter written and completed is cause for a smile and is an encouragement that slowly but surely the book is being written! And the cake and the cone hat sound wonderful!:)

    • It can seem like such a toil at times, you really do question why you’re even bothering. But yes, that uplifting feeling is worth it all! Indeed any progress is better than none at all, even if you write just one sentence. I’ve really had to learn to be patient, because you cannot rush these things, but I think learning this has done me the world of good 🙂

      All the best with your sequel, Mike! Keep powering through! I look forward to reading it someday 😉

  5. Sipra kei!! 100 pages is an awesome milestone, and I’m tremendously pleased to hear that things have been going well with your second book! Keep on persevering 😀

    And I love your drawing! I recognized the scene right away–what a fun image 🙂

    • Aha, THANK YOU! 😀 Oh, Alex, I cannot tell you how much of a relief and thrill it was to reach that point. I needed that boost sooooo badly. Things have very suddenly got a lot better regarding Book 2, and I honestly think that’s purely because of a massive attitude shift I had. But my goodness, am I glad this attitude shift happened!! I’ll keep on going, don’t you worry 😉

      Haha, glad you like it! 🙂 It is quite fun, I guess 😛 But that’s Rhu and Nax for you 😉

      • That is so awesome man 😀 Well-timed motivation boosts are like blessings from heaven, I swear. They work wonders. That’s awesome too, your attitude switch. Lots of smiles! 🙂

        Those rascals 😛 They’re such great friends though, I love it!

      • Tell me about it! They are such blessings! 🙂 Yes, lots of smiles 😀 I had a bit of a major wobble only the other day with the entire story, actually, but all is well again now.

        They are wonderful friends. I love Rhu and Nax so much (am I allowed to say that, as the author ? We’ll keep it quiet 😉 ) It’s such a beautiful, authentic friendship. Last time I read through Times of Old , I thought to myself… The story between Rhu and Nax is quite sad, actually, ’cause their friendship is tested to its limits, and in books 2 & 3 things are only tested further. But I am glad to say that I have created something whereby a massive focus is around such a true friendship.

      • Haha, I don’t think there are any rules against it… although I’m sure some people wouldn’t believe it, from some of the awful things that befall poor characters! Their friendship really is special (I keep thinking of Frodo and Sam here) and you should truly be proud for writing about something so dear 🙂

      • Ha, indeed. The things some characters go through! Poor guys.

        That means a lot for you to say you think of Frodo and Sam! ^^ Their friendship is truly the greatest – Frodo and Sam’s, that is. Thank you so much, Alex 🙂

  6. Pingback: Five Favorite Drawing Books | Concerning Writing

"What does your heart tell you?" - ToO, chpt. 32

